Today is National Poetry Day in the UK

… he loves me not

shredded yellow squares

populate my wastebasket

didn’t make the cut

-KIA

So, ‘National Poetry Day’

in the Grand Old UK.

did you really say?

well, let me Join and Play

I’ll look for more poetic ways,

to express my life on such a day

will I laugh or dance or simply sway

to the music in my head, but nay.

I’ve found a deeper peace

a better form of quieter release

I’m learning to rhyme with greater ease

as I turn out offerings such as these.

enjoy them now before the toss

these squares will soon be naught but loss

to make the room for those of greater gloss

for I would rather these not be mossed.

-KIA

Damned Yank!

Sorry. Not great, I know, but what do want for nothing? Happy National Poetry Day 2015. Enjoy the day with Words.

Why not answer back with some of your own? I’ve shown you mine, show me yours in the comments below. -KIA

2 thoughts on “Today is National Poetry Day in the UK

Please comment Responsibly and Respectfully

