Plug into the Power of Prayer?

Seth Andrews Laying the Smackdown

The Biblical God seems to say No and Wait a lot, doesn’t He?

“For verily I say unto you, That whosoever shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; and shall not doubt in his heart, but shall believe that those things which he saith shall come to pass; he shall have whatsoever he saith.   Therefore I say unto you, What things soever ye desire, when ye pray, believe that ye receive them, and ye shall have them.” -Jesus Christ, Mark 11:23‭-‬24 KJV

Jesus answered and said unto them, “Verily I say unto you, If ye have faith, and doubt not, ye shall not only do this which is done to the fig tree, but also if ye shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; it shall be done.   And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive. -Jesus Christ, Matthew 21:21-22 KJV

Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father.   And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.   If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it.” -Jesus Christ, John 14:12‭-‬14 KJV

“Is any among you afflicted? let him pray. Is any merry? let him sing psalms. Is any sick among you? let him call for the elders of the church; and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord: And the prayer of faith shall save the sick, and the Lord shall raise him up; and if he have committed sins, they shall be forgiven him.” -‘James the brother of Jesus’, James 5:13‭-‬15 KJV

image

-kia

24 thoughts on “Plug into the Power of Prayer?

  1. Yes it was in August 2015 that I posed the question over at James’ site about whether ‘God’ honoured the promises in the Bible such as these that I got onto James’ naughty list.

    Dan who was then a regular contributor accused me of taking the Bible out of context. But I still struggle to understand how I did so. I really suspect ‘taking things out of context’ is an excuse put forward by the faithful when they don’t know how else to answer.

    The reality is prayer does not work. Now regardless of what spin the faithful try put on it, what excuses they make for ‘God’s’ impotence or indifference – the most logical conclusion is that prayer does not work.

    Liked by 2 people

      • Yep, that’s my conclusion also. Folk like Dan suggested I know nothing about the Bible, which is really ludicrous. I lived the life for decades, I preached in churches, I led Bible studies, I acted as Spiritual advisor at Christian retreats, I achieved Distinction grade results in Christian Seminary results. Never once in my time as a a Christian did anyone suggest that I did not understand the Bible.

        Indeed as a youth I attended a Bible study hosted by a local Bishop, he was so impressed that he rang up my mother to suggested I was gifted in Biblical interpretation. In the year leading up to my deconversion myself and a local minister, who had led large successful churches for decades met for Bible study and prayer sessions. When it came to interpreting difficult Bible passages he admitted I understood them better than he did. In the 35 years between these two events no one doubted my understanding of the Bible, many people sought me out to help them with their Bible difficulties. I have a large collection of testimonies from people saying how much I helped them in their Christian walk.

        So I get so frustrated when people like James, Dan, Wally and CS suggest that folk like us have no understanding of the Bible. It just shows their bias, as you say they say it because we point out to them uncomfortable teachings and inconsistencies in the Bible, They really do want to shoot the messenger.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Peter, this is exactly how you should respond when someone says you don’t know the bible! Give it to them with both barrels!!!

          Having said that, I realize they’ll come back with some cockamamie response, but at least visitors to the blog will see your response and know you’re not blowing smoke.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Thanks Nan. I have given up commenting on Christian sites. Perhaps the Christians have won the battle with me, their preparedness to place their faith above evidence and reason leaves me nothing to argue.

            But I do get really annoyed when I see folk like James at Isaiah 53:5 saying atheists are wilfully ignorant. That a Young Earth Creationist could say that beggars belief. It is the Young Earth Creationists who are wilfully ignorant.

            Then folk like JAmes have the gall to quote Francis Collins. Francis Collins totally disagrees with the YEC position. So how do you argue with the level of ignorance displayed by a person like James? I just can’t anymore I will leave him an his ilk in their delusion it makes them happy I am sure. They think God is in control despite the evidence to the contrary.

            Over at Bruce Gerencser’s blog he recounted a discussion that he had with a Christian who said that it did not matter what evidence was provided to show the Bible contains error that person would still believe by faith it was inerrant. Because of that closed minded attitude Bruce also mentioned he has given up arguing with Christians.

            So James, if you are lurking, you have won, you have out stared me. I will leave you to bask in your victory and your lies and deceit.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Well, I can’t say I blame you because most of them are extremely indoctrinated. In most cases, no matter what a (sane) person says, they deflect and distract so their readers won’t see the truth (at least their version of the truth).

              Nevertheless, you do have a leg or two to stand on if you ever choose to blast them with your credentials. 😉

              Liked by 1 person

              • Nan I am sure that they will just say I was never a True Christian.

                Shortly after I deconverted I went along to Christian retreat where I was the Spiritual Advisor – it was one of those sort of events where I could not extract myself from. I responded to the Speakers talks and led a discussion on ‘How to hear God’s voice rather than our own internal voice’ – I did feel awkward there so attempted to draw out from the audience their views rather than impose my own.

                After the talk a person came up me and said that they had seem some things ‘in the Spirit’ regarding myself during the discussion. This was less than three weeks after I deconverted and I still held the possibility that ‘God’ existed and would clarify my doubts. So I felt with trepidation that ‘God’ was going to call me out. But instead the person just explained how God had shown them about my ministry and gifting – the usual airy fairy feel good stuff. Just confirmed to me that people who think they are hearing from an all knowing divine spirit aren’t.

                Even our friend Bruce (GMF) admitted that I knew the Bible better than he did, but this did not stop him from telling me I was a never a True Christian. I don’t expect anything from these folk, they are deluded and will remain so until they value truth more than delusion. I mean to say they argue the the genealogy in Luke’s Gospel is that of Mary not Joseph even though the Bible says it is the genealogy of through Joseph, so they are prepared to actually contradict what the Bible says to ‘prove’ it is without contradiction. That anyone could prove the truth of a text in that manner shows that all reason has been turned off, this is why I get so annoyed at the claims of wilful ignorance directed at folk like me – these folk can’t even read what their own text says. Yet they claim to support the literal truth of the Bible.

                Liked by 2 people

  2. Just came across an article in Christianity Today about a Church that offers a 90 day refund of Tithes is the church member feels God has not been faithful.
    http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2016/june-web-only/faithful-tithing-now-comes-with-money-back-guarantee.html

    I wonder how many folk claim the refund? I somehow doubt that many would want to make the claim to the Church authorities about God not being faithful. I suspect most who feel the God has not come through for them would rather just keep quiet about it and pretend that they are being blessed.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Prayer vs. my smartphone.

    – How far is the Sun?

    God: {no response}
    Google: The Sun is 149.6 million km from Earth.

    – Who is Obama?

    God: {no response}
    Google: According to Wikipedia, Barack Hussein Obama is. an American politician who is the 44th and current President of the United States. (Displays pictures of Obama and link to Wikipedia)

    – Directions to nearest Pizza Hut

    God: {no response}
    Google: Pizza Hut is seven minutes away by car in light traffic. Here are your directions. (Displays an interactive map plus a list of alternate locations sorted by distance)

    – What is the answer to the meaning of life, the universe, and everything?

    God: {no response}
    Google: The answer to the meaning of life, the universe, and everything is 42.

    Final tally:

    God – 0 out of 4 (no response)
    Google – 4 out of 4 (avg. response <1 sec)

    Like

  4. Hello Mike. I guess I am the odd man out here. I did go to different bible schools as a young child, and as a teen was inducted into the S.D.A. church. My need for them was great , I was an abused child in a dysfunctional home. They sent me away to a boarding school for kids of the church, something I was totally unprepared for. To tell the truth I am now a 53 year old man and I still prefer to see life as it is, not as I wish it to be. To me theist do that, look at life as they want it to be.

    I do not need to know or recite bible verses to show the lack of a caring god, I need only ask you to turn on the TV, the internet, or any news source. To turn all of this over to a deity then means your deity loves chaos. No deity loves people and then lets them be slaughtered, die at sea in masses , and lets every single thing kill its creation. I don’t even speak as a human creator. It is simply silly and unbelievable the whole idea. Look all you need to disprove the bible is a sense of your own self. You don’t need a bible verse to care for other people. I have done it all my life. Others have.

    I am not running down all those who have commented before here, I think their comments are grand. I am just saying that most of them prefaced their remarks with a lot of biblical knowledge which I applaud. However you need not know all the bible by heart to see the flaws and to understand the silliness of it and to see the mistakes of those fundamentalists who claim it is the total and end all of the universe.

    Be well, many best wishes. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thx Scottie. You’re right. Sometimes the less you know biblically or have learned in Christianity, the easier it is to see what a sham it is. I have 34 yrs to ‘recover’ from. Thankfully, my journey has allowed me to cross path with some great people. Like you for example. Thx for always being an encourager for me

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You guys are silly! Forget your war on Christianity but just think logically. What’s the one big condition in all the quotes above? If you have faith and DONT DOUBT, it shall be done. The problem is not in God’s power to intervene in our lives, it’s in our belief system on the metaphysical process of creating things. Faith is a source of power, not a synonym for religion. It’s a skill to learn like a Jedi sword. Hugs anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

Please comment Responsibly and Respectfully

