Don’t be afraid, The World is just Normal People…

“Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.  For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.  And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.” 1 John 2:15‭-‬17 KJV

Found on the internet web blogs today a reminder of bigotry against those who are not christian in the form of a post about what ‘the world’ won’t tell you or your kids. Her suggestion is a tired one. It comes from a stilted worldiew that denigrates and demeans anyone who isn’t like them or doesn’t agree with their point of view or perspective of reality… ie. the Christian one, as just “the world”. 

I understand what she’s saying though. As a Christian for 34 years and an Avocational Minister for twenty five of those I was once just as bigoted against reality without Jesus as she is still. I used the phrase “the world” in ways that now would make me want to wash my mouth out with Zest for having such ‘zest’ for hatred of my fellow man just for not knowing and loving my saviour, Jesus. 

The implication is that THIS world is passing away and the NEXT is so much more. In fact as one of God’s personal representatives on earth, i carried a little bit of “Heaven in my heart” where ever I went.

The implication is that those who don’t have this “Piece of Peace” are not just missing out, but Doomed to failure and immorality and debauchery and all manner of illicit behaviour, attitudes and lifestyles. They can’t even raise their kids right to tell them how not to treat their girlfriends before marriage. Because… without God, not just ANY god, but GOD thru His Son, Jesus… Neither have they the ability of or foundation to good and traditional morality to pass on to the next generation. Beres#!t!!  

Here’s my response to said nameless and unlinked bogging bigot.  

“Actually, I grew up in central Kansas and much of what you’ve written on how to treat others and the opposite sex before marriage resonates with what I was raised with. By parents who did not know “the Lord” and who did not attend church at all.
‘The world’ is just a pejorative we used as Christians to describe others who did not agree with our perspective of reality and our conception of god. People are people. People are generally good and moral. No christianity required. None at all”

This one really should read more of the Old Testament and discover the kind of “Family Values” it espouses. She might become more grateful that she was raised with Western Enlightenment Values of common decency and respect for your fellow man. 

  • Or would she rather she were sold by her father to be a wife/female slave as a young girl to the nearest relative or trader? 
  • Or handed over to a sex crazed mob of sodomites to keep her father’s Angel Guests safe from harm?
  • Or is there is this beautiful example of Jesus’s Family Values to consider from the New Testament…

“Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.   For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law.   And a man’s foes shall be they of his own household.   He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.” Matthew 10.34-37.KJV 

Nuff said I think. 

How about you? Why not tell me in the comments? How were you raised? In a Christian home or not so much? Was your Christian home experience ‘good’ or was it Devilish? What was your secular home like? Do you think the lack of Christianity growing up is limiting or detrimental to good child rearing? What about the presence of Christianity in the home? Its ok. Let it all out now. 

-kia

9 thoughts on “Don’t be afraid, The World is just Normal People…

  1. Hello Mike. I don’t go to many sites run by religious people actively pushing their religion, simply because I have no interest in it. Wally once made the comment to me that I shouldn’t come to his site if I did not agree with him and I told him not to worry I had no intention to return. However I do believe people such as yourself do great work pushing back against an organised attempt to force all of us by either law or convention to do as they believe their religion requires them to do. I reject that idea and am glad people like you carry on the fight to protect all of us. To your post. What I get from your post is most christian web sites have a very narrow and unhealthy view of the world. They seem to say that unless it is how I think it should be, unless it is how I want it to be, unless it is mine then it has no worth nor can it be a positive. Sadly I have found that idea else where and it is part of the idea that “America is the greatest nation ever” stuff. I hate that . First everyone thinks their country is great. That is normal. Second anyone who has traveled to other countries knows every country has both good and bad parts of it. Other countries can have ideas and customs that the US could benefit from. The reverse is true also. What is so harmful and self defeating is the idea that anything that originates or is done somewhere else other than started in “my” country is automatically wrong, bad, and must be attacked and killed. The US has a lot of good, we also have a lot of bad. Same with other countries. However if someone else figures out how to do something great, should we disregard it because it did not originate in the US? Lastly one of the things I have heard said by christians about how bad other countries are is that they don’t enforce religious rules. These countries have left god. These countries are secular, or more so than the US. Yet in the same conversation these same people will rail against islamic muslim countries and against sharia law. When I point out these same people want a version of sharia christian law in the US to supplant the secular laws they shut down and refuse to accept what they hear, labeling me a troll or worse. So how to talk to them on this subject and how to see reason? I do not know and I just give up, protecting my own space as much as I can. Frustrated hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    • Brother scottie, you are precious. Thank you for your comment. And I agree with your comment on Christians wanting to bring the nation under a kind of Christian sharia. I used to believe and advocate this as well as a Christian. Unfortunately so. America is and has never been a Christian nation. I hope it never is

      Liked by 1 person

Please comment Responsibly and Respectfully

