“I am Nobody, Who are you?”

Classic Question, Poem and Song

I’m nobody! Who are you?
Are you nobody, too?
Then there’s a pair of us — don’t tell!
They’d banish — you know!

How dreary to be somebody!
How public like a frog
To tell one’s name the livelong day
To an admiring bog!

Emily Dickinson

Who am I? Who are You?  Who gets to Say?

Why is it that the ones who used to ‘Love you with the Love of the Lord”, now have only thinly veiled contempt and sometimes outright Unrighteous “Righteous Anger”, Indignation and spew forth the most Venomous Hatred usually associated with an HBO Replay (for the 7th time today) of The Exorcist?

Do they think I’m ‘possessed’?

“Have I become your enemy because I tell you the truth?”

-Galatians 4:16

Who is the only one who has the right to tell you who and what you are? Then why are there so many in my former ‘Loving’ Faith Community who now want to own the Naming Rights to… ME?

Did you ever have that heart sinking suspicion that Someone who thinks they are Somebody is trying to

  • Name you,
  • Label you, or
  • Identify you
  • so they can
  • Dismiss you,
  • Ignore you or

‘Count you as Dung’ or Bat Guano

in their eyes and thus feel Superior and Justified in having summarily dealt the Death Blow in their simple little Bird sized minds to your Ideas, Thoughts, Feelings and even the very Core of Your Worth as a Person. Well I say…

Bollocks to You!!

A Pox on your house to the 4th Generation!!

No Sir, you cannot have my identity.

I say for myself as You say for yourself

You cannot steal from me, the rightful owner, for yourself the rights or the freedom just to call me what you will. I am not Yours to do with as you please. My Name is my own, My Life is my own, My Identity is my own.

So Piss Off, you who would label me in order to Control who I am. Because I Am…

The Recovering Know It All.

Recovering quiet nicely at that, I would say. (And my Wife ™ wonders why I’m often angry. 😦 )

4 thoughts on ““I am Nobody, Who are you?”

  1. No need to be angry Kia.
    If, as you say, you know who you are and you are confident in your identity, then it should be easy (relatively) to ignore those who wish label you otherwise.
    Don’t give away your power by being angry.

    (I agree with most of this post, except where you go putting curses on people). It’s just as easy to bless as it is to curse.

    Like

Please comment Responsibly and Respectfully

