“Can we choose to believe what we want to believe?” 

To this question on a blog post by an Amateur Internet Apologist, I would answer Yes. I think the next question james assumes the positive answer for is 

“because we can, are we then necessarily biased or destined to believe what we want to believe, or disbelieve, regardless of evidence?”

Because this is what I think you are trying to imply by your post. You are unfairly and dishonestly trying to imply that those who Believe do so because they want to, aidea by the evidence… and those who Disbelieve do so because they want to, regardless of the evidence.

You weight the argument against the disbelievers but in favor of the believers. I know why you do this. you and everyone who reads your blog knows why you do this. But you simply must realize it’s dishonest and lacking integrity. First, my comment in response that I don’t expect to show on your post, thus this response post on my blog: 

KIA

October 16, 2016 • 11:08 am

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

So james. Do you believe in jesus because you want to believe and are biased to believe what you want, regardless of evidence?

“They don’t believe because they don’t want to”

I know what James was trying to do with his post. It’s fairly evident and transparent. In the face of such a dearth of actual evidence and proof for his particular brand of religion, which incidently was also my particular brand of religion for 34 years, he has to find a way to excuse and justify the constant questions and requests for ‘Evidence that Demands a Verdict’ for the Christian Faith coming from those who don’t share his Verdict or conclusions of the veracity of its claims or even the veracity of its evidence for those claims. 

Thus the over worked  and Broadbrush Application of the charge of Bias and ‘not believing because they dont want to believe’. To be fair, just because you site a study where people believe what they want to believe regardless of evidence, does not imply or prove that all people do, all the time, or even that those beliefs are not able to be changed given new information, or that people won’t change their minds and beliefs when presented with that new information if it is infact credible.

Its just another trumped up charge and strawman to explain way why people don’t believe your unsubstantiated claims based on bad or no evidence.  But james… there is a flip side to your argument that I think you are ignoring.

“You just believe because you want to believe, regardless of the evidence or proof against it”

Is this what you were going for, James?

In the final analysis, it doesn’t matter what we want to believe or not believe. It only matters what is true and can be demonstrated to be true. We should want to believe that. That is why Evidence will always beat Faith in being able to determine what is and is not true.

-kia

19 thoughts on ““Can we choose to believe what we want to believe?” 

  1. Re: God’s invisible qualities (Romans 1:20)

    How does one differentiate between a god that’s invisible and a god that doesn’t exist? And why would an all-powerful god wish to remain hidden? Why not reveal itself and eliminate all doubt?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was wondering if former believers are harder on religions than those who never held a faith? Are deconverts harder on believers than those who do not have their background? IF so is it a need to validate themselves, or is a pressing need to show what they now understand, just as they had a need to preach to non believers before? Do do former believers of faith now engage the still believing as a sense of duty? Just asking because sometimes it seems I would let a point or some thing slide, but other really hammer on the point. Just wondering if I lack ambition in this matter or other have a deeper need? Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  3. In regard to unbelief, at least, for me the change was dramatic. It was like a like switch coming on. Suddenly during 8 February 2015 I knew I no longer believed. After that point no amount of trying or effort could change that.

    I suspect in my case the reason for a dramatic and sudden transition to unbelief is quite simple. That was the first time that I dared to consider the possibility that the Bible might not be true.

    But did I truly believe before then? Not such an easy question to answer as the certainty of my belief wavered with increased consideration of contrary evidence. If I had not taken Christianity so seriously and tried to live it so fully and study it so deeply then probably I would still be a Christian. It was my wholehearted embrace of Christianity that caused me to conclude that the promises did not work. You see before then I always felt that any problem reflected that somehow I needed to be more committed, the problem must be with me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great answer and thx Peter. My aha moment came shortly after yours, when I started asking questions on Christian blogs looking for possible answers to some of the things I was learning that contradicted my knowledge of the Bible and faith

      Like

  4. In regard to belief is how do we handle the issue of ‘doubt’.

    I think most folk who believe have periods of doubt.

    Many Christians identify with the statement in the Bible:

    Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” (Mark 9:24)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doubt, in the real world, is synonymous with Humility and genuine care for truth. In christianity… it’s the Devils voice in your head that will never lead you to discovery, but always to denial of Christ. Therefore it must be avoided whenever possible and excised when not

      Like

Please comment Responsibly and Respectfully

