NaPoWriMo: Tie Tuesday edition

Today for Tie Tuesday, I decided to pull out one I haven’t worn in awhile. “Lions and Tigers, oh my!” 

I don’t have a poem of my own to share today, but I’d like to post the lyrics to a song from the 80’s band named Survivor, called Eye of the Tiger. It was the theme song from Rocky III and I saw them in concert with another of my favorite bands at the time, Kansas when they were doing their Vinyl Confessions tour. Ah yes… memories.

“Eye Of The Tiger”

Rising up, back on the street
Did my time, took my chances
Went the distance, now I’m back on my feet
Just a man and his will to survive

So many times it happens too fast
You trade your passion for glory
Don’t lose your grip on the dreams of the past
You must fight just to keep them alive

It’s the eye of the tiger
It’s the thrill of the fight
Rising up to the challenge of our rival
And the last known survivor
Stalks his prey in the night
And he’s watching us all with the eye of the tiger

Face to face, out in the heat
Hanging tough, staying hungry
They stack the odds still we take to the street
For the kill with the skill to survive

It’s the eye of the tiger
It’s the thrill of the fight
Rising up to the challenge of our rival
And the last known survivor
Stalks his prey in the night
And he’s watching us all with the eye of the tiger

Rising up, straight to the top
Had the guts, got the glory
Went the distance, now I’m not gonna stop
Just a man and his will to survive

It’s the eye of the tiger
It’s the thrill of the fight
Rising up to the challenge of our rival
And the last known survivor
Stalks his prey in the night
And he’s watching us all with the eye of the tiger

The eye of the tiger
The eye of the tiger
The eye of the tiger
The eye of the tiger

Sometimes, coming out of a life that kept you down or stolen some of your personal passion for your own dreams to fulfill “it’s” goals and dreams instead can be a 12 round fight with a bloody ending. The goal is to continue fighting and rediscovering who you Were and who you Are now, and who you want to Be apart from the life and framework that was imposed on you, or you imposed on yourself, for way too long. 

This song came out about the time I had committed my life to Christ the first time. That was November 30, 1981 on my paper route at 15yrs old in the front room of one of my customers. It’s was another 8 years before I got really serious and handed full control of my life and passion and direction to the Faith of Jesus Christ. I became a Disciple and later a witness and missionary and Avocational minister in various roles. My own life was “hid with Christ” as the scripture said, and as such, my whole Identity as a person was taken over by the effort and goal of “more of You and less of me”… “therefore, I no longer live, but the life I live now is the Life of Jesus Christ”

This life had many impacts on my relationships with family and how I saw the world and other people… and myself. I’m still in process of fighting back to ME.

The symbolism of Tigers helps. Even Katy Perry’s song, a 21st century equivalent to the Survivor song, helps me to focus on daily fighting for who I am and who I can be. I have the Eye of the Tiger. Do you?

-kia

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo: Tie Tuesday edition

Please comment Responsibly and Respectfully

