For TJ’s Household Haiku Challenge

Yes, it’s time from another of TJ’s Haiku Challenges. This week the themes are Ancient and Moment. I’ll once again allow him to explain.

The challenge words for this week are “Moment” and “Ancient

You can use either the words or the picture to construct your own haiku and add a link in the comments section at the end of the post (press the black speech bubble to access)

For my entry I chose very personal reflections for the month of April. 

Life is but a whisker 

Days shaved off, years like stubble.

Turn chore into joy.

-kia

I’ve been shaving ‘old school’ with a double edged safety Razor for about two and a half years. As of yet, I haven’t worked up the courage for these boys yet. But when I do, they will be ready for me. (I’ll probably cut my fool head off) They are both late thirties or early forties vintage, like my parents were. Their birthdays were both in April and my mom passed four years ago on the 13th at the age of 72. Priceless for their years and wisdom. I miss them both dearly. 

There isn’t a day goes by that I am not haunted by short, and sometimes sharp and crystal clear Moments in time that have been frozen in my memory from the past, just waiting to be thawed by the warmth of love and feelings that I still have for them. I will always love my mom and dad, and my even my twin brother who has passed also since. Like these blades, their memories have the ability to separate me from my present and transport me to happier times when we were all together as one family. It’s just my sister and me now.

Generations we.

With a smile, she watched as they ate.

Echoes from the past.

-kia

We also went out tonight for our “Friday night date night” to one of favorite places downtown. It’s a quaint wine bar/Italian eatery just off of an historic century old hotel in the center of town. My gaze was drawn by the sweet sight of an octogenarian grandmother surrounded by three more generations of her family. It was a special moment in time to be savored, like the wine we had and the gourmet pizza we were served. 

Your voice still echoes

Present with us from the past

I will not forget

-kia

April has never been the same since

If there is one thing I’ve learned since my dad passed 7yrs ago, my mom 4yrs ago, my brother 3yrs ago and my own last grandmother just last year, is that moments are easy to miss. They are damned easier to take for granted. 

Love your family while they are here. Live and love in the moments you will no longer have once they are gone, just like the ritual of a brush and bowl shave with a 70yr old heirloom, or a family dinner with four generations sharing the table.

Enjoy the moment. Take it all in. Never allow yourself the luxury of taking it for granted. 

To live Ancient Moments in Present Reality is to carry your loved ones with you even after they have passed on. Their memories still breathe… in you 

Now for you… how would you answer TJ’s challenge? Tell me in the comments below and why not visit to tell him yourself. Enjoy… life 

-kia

17 thoughts on “For TJ’s Household Haiku Challenge

  1. You speak so much truth. The haiku are truly beautiful and your words this week just go straight to the heart. There is something about seemingly simple objects like your old razors that somehow just seem to absorb a sense of the persons that use them. Maybe it is because I am getting older but I do find much more often a flood of a simple memory or recollection coming out of nowhere and sometimes knocking me for six. Very best wishes as always to you mate from Aussieland. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. His bone is dying
    Shave it or replace it
    Cure is a killer

    Hubby has osteonecrosis of his femur due to the massive steroids he’s been on to fix his kidneys. Kidneys are better, but now this… he’s only 44 so not ancient. We’ve been living moment to moment until we find out what they will do to ease his never ending pain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: TJ’s Household Haiku Challenge | La vie est trop courte pour boire du mauvais vin

Please comment Responsibly and Respectfully

