Superhero Wednesday: Not feeling Incredible Today

At work, I’m Mr Incredible. 

I’m at my desk by 430a, ready to face the day and all it’s challenges. I and my fellows are the openers, which means we are the First Line Crew. We handle the work that didn’t quite get completed by the Closers, and the stuff that was sloughed off by the Midday People too anxious to play. 

For the last few months, we’ve had more than the normal backlog from the previous day to get thru before starting on the New Day’s work. My goal is to set the Closers and the Middayers up for success as well as I can for when I leave the office for the day. Lately the load from yesterday has been so great that we are barely getting to the early or late morning work before I leave at 130p. 

I do my best. My Opener Team does their best, but for the last few months anyways, our best has repeatedly come up short, like yesterday after a three day weekend. I love what we do. What we do matters to Real People with Real Families in Real Need. There’s never a day that in wake up when I don’t want to go to work… where I feel like don’t want to show up. I always have Hope. I always Engage.

But I’m not feeling like Mr Incredible these days. I feel like just another guy in a suit, waking up at 245a and getting to work half an hour early to start the coffee. I hope I can figure out how to turn our Team around.  It Matters.

Sorry all. Mini work rant over for today.

-kia

Please comment Responsibly and Respectfully

