TJ’s Midweek Gratitude Event: Flag Day… Freedom, Health and Family

Tj has started a Midweek Gratitude Event that I’d like to share with you. I’ll let him explain.

Can it be Wednesday again? Thanks to those who dropped by to share three things you are grateful for each Wednesday. Why not spend a minute or two and focus on a few things that are worth being thankful for today?

In the United StatesFlag Day is celebrated on June 14. It commemorates the adoption of the flag of the United States, which happened on June 14, 1777, by resolution of the Second Continental Congress.[1] The United States Army also celebrates the U.S. Army Birthdays on this date; Congress adopted “the American continental army” after reaching a consensus position in the Committee of the Whole on June 14, 1775.[2][3]
-Wikipedia

Here are my three Gratitudes for this week.

#1. Freedom

I’m grateful to be living in a country where I’m Free to express my opinion and even my frustration with the government or politics or religion and be relatively unhindered and unfettered to do so. 

I realize from my time overseas in the army and as a missionary in different countries that many do not have this freedom that we seem to take quite for granted here. I only have to list off a few other nations that repress free thought and speech… North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Iran, and even in Thailand… for you to understand how precious this Inalienable Right of all people everywhere is when it is not respected by the governments and religions that retaliate against those who would exercise it.

Flag Day happens to fall two days after the anniversary of my reporting to Basic Training in the Army right after high school. I served 4yrs active, 2yrs reserve to defend the rights of my fellow Americans to such freedoms, two years of those also safeguarding them for South Koreans along the DMZ separating them from the oppressive regime in the North which once tried to deny them.

#2. Health

This week, and all weeks really, I’m grateful for my health and ability to move around and have my independence. I work for a healthcare company and regularly speak with doctors and patients who are not so fortunate. The have cancers and other chronic illnesses that make life and just living sometimes nearly impossible. My coworkers are all dealing with sick kids, declining and aging spouses and parents. 

My parents are passed now, but my father in law is with us since December and I see the effects of age, poor choices and a lifetime of health habits that eventually catch up with you. I’m grateful that we are healthy and reasonably able to move around with relative ease.  We’ve made choices as far as eating and health that have been paying off so far to keep us out of the track towards an early decline. It seems to be More expensive for some people to buy better foods and live a healthier lifestyle, I would disagree to a large extent, but in reality it’s actually cheaper in the long run. We realize that we cannot preclude a lotnnof challenges that may come as we age, but what we can do to stay stronger, healthier and less prone to those chronic illnesses, that we have a responsibility to do. Our health and life are the most important and valuable things we own in this Life. 

#3. Again, Family

I’m grateful for our two wonderful Maltese dogs, Sonny and Daisy. They always love, never judge and never ceae e to amaze me with their humor, intelligence and insight. When I’m down, they known it and make sure to let me know… I have a Family. They are my four legged kids. And of course my wife is the shepherd and puppy herder of the family. 

In the last 7yrs, my family has lost more than our share of members, starting with my dad. This has served to really hammer home to me that Family is the second most precious possession in life after Life and Health itself. 

What about You?

Why not share in the comments or creat your own post and link to this one in the comments here and at Tj’s. With all that is wrong in the world today and all you could be really and rightly pissed off about, why not have the Attitude of Gratitude for at least one day out of the week?

-kia

5 thoughts on “TJ’s Midweek Gratitude Event: Flag Day… Freedom, Health and Family

  1. Grateful for LIFE in all its unfolding and how it surprises — and for the opportunity to create things (knowledge, art) and connection with others (relationships)
    that enhance life
    Grateful for children who are so open, creative, and inspiring

    Liked by 2 people

Please comment Responsibly and Respectfully

